Tags

, ,


BeFunky_monstermoday.jpg

                                                           Monster Mondays

 

            So I finished a great book this weekend and I really want to tell the Author Shannon Mayers Thank you! For allowing me to review it!

shannon mayer

                                                                 About this author (By Goodreads)
 

  Reading and writing from a very young age I learned early on that stories built-in a fantasy world were where the fun was at. Reading books by Robert Jordan spurred me on and it was the first real epic fantasy that I fell in love with. After that came Piers Anthony, Melanie Rawn and into my older teen years, Anne Rice.
It was in Rice’s novels that the idea of urban fantasy really bloomed for me and it was about that time that my grandmother was letting me read her Harlequin Historical novels. (Okay, actually she was slipping them to me when my mother wasn’t looking, but let’s not get picky.)
The combination of love stories and darker fantasy stuck with me and it’s now not only what I gravitate towards to read on my off time (Kelly Armstrong, Laurell K Hamilton, Kim Harrison), but has become the style I love to write in.
Besides writing, I love to spend time with my family and animals, horseback ride, garden and hike with my husband.

 

                                                                     The Nevermore Trilogy

                                                                                  nevermore

They were promised weight loss, the cure for Cancer, Parkinson’s Disease and infertility; they were promised hope.

The side effects were anything but hopeful.

Mara and Sebastian are young, in love and newlyweds.  Far too soon, they will face tests to their love that most others won’t survive. Their bond strengthens with each loss, destruction and unbearable race against time.  In each other, they find the will and hope to endure.  Hand in hand, they will face the darkening of humanity with strength and integrity and an undeniable spirit to survive; together.

My thoughts on The Nevermore series . . ?

I frigging loved it . Now I have to say I am not one for romance . But I have to tell you that I never experienced before with a mixture of horror along with it. Here is a story of a woman and man who loved one another so much . That their bond was proven to be unbreakable through the change of the end of times . Now I’m well aware that those of you that havent read this just yet is thinking . The change? . .

When I say change . . I mean it’s just like a zombie apocalypse but isn’t. Picture a drug being introduced to population that goes bad. Turns everyone you know and love in to monsters. I would call these type of characters’  Crazy cannibals . They were like zombies in the fashion, they hungered for flesh. But yet they would just about eat anything. Even though  human flesh is what really quenched their hunger. Once turned in to this monster their skin turned yellow and their eyes were golden with slits in them (Where the pupil was) . This kind of made me envisioned them like crazy cavemen and women. 

So when Mara (Main Character) decided that she was going to look in to trying this new drug that hit the market (Like non other) . Getting to the local doctors office was more like meeting at a local mall. Being everyone and the mother was there to try this new medicine that promised weight-loss. Only for Mara to find out she couldn’t take it. Because Mara had allergies. Going home heart-broken because not only did this drug promised weight-loss but in Mara’s case fertility . Mara for some reason couldn’t conceive naturally . But thank god she didn’t take it , because the world was now changing quickly in to an apocalyptic hell 30 days after the injection . Only to find everything was crashing down around her , including her marriage. This story was not only action packed from beginning to the very end. But touching too , I found myself falling in love with some of the characters! I can’t tell you much more with out spoiling it .

The only bad thing that I can tell you about this story is that I feel that I was robbed at the end because I just could not get enough! I want you Shannon to start working on the next book in the series!!! I love the Characters , the way the Author made you feel while reading it. I give Shannon 5 Very Satisfied stars! Awesome work girl

 

 

 

worlds

Dr. Tina Cassidy, like the rest of the folks of Green Roads, Oregon, is unaware there is a portal in the forest that leads to a magical world. When a handsome stranger passes through her town, the beautiful and fun-loving doctor sees only a man who ignites her passion in ways that leave her breathless. A one-night stand leads to a deep bond, and longing for more.
Clive Winslow is touched to his soul by Tina’s compassionate and loving nature. But he is a werewolf, a curse that denies him any chance at real love. He returns to his world to continue his duties as a crime investigator, but Tina is never far from his mind.
Fate intervenes, however, for Tina conceives Clive’s child. A part of both worlds, the fetus harbors a possible cure to the werewolf virus. Unaware of the nature of her pregnancy, Tina, still hurt by Clive’s desertion, vows to raise the child alone.
Clive is soon on the trail of a killer—a werewolf who has targeted the human world to rule as his own. When the killer encounters Tina, he is determined to have the power growing in her unborn child. Weaving Tina into a spell of trust and attraction, he soon takes her prisoner. As he begins a dark and violent ritual to steal her soul, Clive follows behind, desperate to save the woman he loves, and the child he never imagined he would have.
Warning: Contains adult material
 
 
I finished The Passage. .. it’s only getting a 3 star review .
 
pass

My review for The Passage by Justin Cronin. I have to tell you that it just wasnt for me. When I read any book there are rules that I have that must be met!

Rule #1 Must be action packed ( when you claim to be a horror novel ,please be what you claim)

Rule #2  Character Rules: It’s fine when your an Author and you happen to decide to have a large cast of characters. But onething I cant stand is when you get used to one group and the author throws in a whole new group. And then you dont hear any more about the original. That was the first Stike for me.

Rule #3  PLEASE . .dont go on forever about the story and then it seems like we forget why we are even reading it for. Like where is the the terror in this book? Hello . .

So I am going to give this story a 3 star review because it wasnt a bad story line at all. It just was super long and it took me to force myself to Chapter 31 before I gave it up. But his version of a Vampire was really cool!

Next. . .

Winterveil (The Secrets of Wintercraft)

wv

Jenna Burtenshaw’s dark fantasy trilogy The Secrets of Wintercraft comes to a pulse-pounding conclusion with YA dystopian novel Winterveil.

Teen Kate Winters and her powers are unique. She alone can understand Wintercraft, a book of ancient secrets.

In Winterveil, the veil between the living and the dead is crumbling, and only Kate can stop it. The pull of the veil is powerful, and part of Kate wants to let it fall, allowing the dead overrun the living. Her best friend Edgar Rill urges Kate to save the world of the living. But Silas Dane can influence Kate too. Silas, a merciless villain, has the potential to behave honorably—if he chooses.

A great pick for fans of Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Legend.

Next. . .

BloodVine

                4.8 out of 5 stars

by Amber Belldene

bloodvine

In Blood Vine, bites are an inconvenient bliss, exiled vampires are wasting away, and the fate of their kind depends on the perfect PR campaign.

When public relations pro Zoey Porter arrives at an enchanting California winery, she discovers her sexy new client is the almost one-night stand she can’t forget. After her husband’s suicide, Zoey has vowed never to risk her heart again. But can she walk away from the intriguing winemaker a second time?

Driven from Croatia by his ancient foes, vampire Andre Maras has finally made a blood-like wine to cure his fellow refugees. Now he needs Zoey’s PR expertise to reach them. After his wife’s death, Andre has a vow of his own—never to risk another painful blood bond. And one taste of the tempting Zoey would bind him to her eternally.

His secrets stall her PR plans. Her jealousy is stoked by the blissed-out beauties leaving his bedroom. At every turn, he utterly fails to resist her. When she discovers he is a vampire, will she be lost to the golden-eyed Hunters, or lose herself to the emptiness in her heart, before she can help him save his kind?

